vatican museums sala della biga

Built in the late 1700 by Giuseppe Camporese, the Sala della Biga is part of the Pio Clementino Museum in which are collected the works of greek-Roman art acquired by the popes over the centuries. This wing of the museum is famous for hosting the large marble group of the "Cassa di Biga" which in fact represents a chariot pulled by two horses. It is a sculpture dating from the first century A.D. that was found in the Church of San Marco, where it was used as the bishop's throne. In the room is also kept a copy of a "Discobolus", the original bronze, dated 560-550 BC, he was found in Hadrian's Villa in Tivoli.

Discover Rome Art!

Find on the map!

What our visitors saying about their experience